Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners & Breeders (KTOB) Announce 2015 KY-Bred Champions, Merit Award Winners, KTDF Leaders, and Special Achievement Award
Thursday, April 21, 2016 Share on Facebook RSS Feeds

Contact Jenny Gordon
Telephone (859) 259-1643
Email [email protected]


LITTLEPRINCESSEMMA, dam of Triple Crown winner
AMERICAN PHAROAH, honored as 2015 Broodmare of the Year.
MICHAEL BLOWEN receives Special Achievement for his dedication 
to providing retirement for Thoroughbred heroes.

Lexington, KY – Zayat Stables took home three awards today at the KTOB’s  Annual KY-Bred Champions Award Luncheon held at Keeneland.   Zayat homebred AMERICAN PHAROAH was honored as the KY-Bred Horse of the Year and as Three-Year-Old Male.  In addition, Zayat received an award honoring 2015 Broodmare of the Year LITTLEPRINCESSEMMA, who was owned by Zayat Stables at the time she produced Triple Crown and Breeders’ Cup Classic-G1 winner AMERICAN PHAROAH.

2015 KTOB Broodmare of the Year and owner and 2015 KY-Bred Champions and their breeders: 

  • Broodmare of the Year: LITTLEPRINCESSEMMA (Zayat Stables)
  • Horse of the Year; Three Year Old Male: AMERICAN PHAROAH (Zayat Stables)
  • Two Year Old Male: NYQUIST (Summerhill Farm)
  • Two Year Old Filly: SONGBIRD (John Antonelli)
  • Three Year Old Filly: I’M A CHATTERBOX (Fletcher Gray & Carolyn Gray)
  • Older Dirt Male: HONOR CODE (Dell Ridge Farm, LLC)
  • Older Dirt Female: BEHOLDER (Clarkland Farm)
  • Turf Male: BIG BLUE KITTEN (Kenneth L. Ramsey & Sarah K. Ramsey)
  • Turf Female: TEPIN (Machmer Hall)
  • Sprinter: RUNHAPPY (Wayne Lyster, Gray Lyster & Bryan Lyster)
  • Steeplechase Horse:  DEMONSTRATIVE (Gainsborough Farm LLC)
  • Racing Abroad: AIR FORCE BLUE (Stone Farm)

A Special Achievement Award was presented to Michael Blowen, whose dedication to provide a dignified retirement to Thoroughbred heroes has added immeasurable value to the Thoroughbred industry in Central Kentucky.

Four merit awards were presented to individuals for their contributions to the Kentucky Thoroughbred Industry. 

2015 Merit awards presented at the KTOB Luncheon:

  • P.A.B. Widener Trophy for KTOB Breeder of the Year: DARLEY
  • Hardboot Breeders’ Award pays tribute to distinctive but unsung breeders that help make up the backbone of our industry: ARTHUR B. HANCOCK, III
  • Charles W. Engelhard Award acknowledges a member of the media for outstanding coverage of the Thoroughbred industry: SEAN & JOE CLANCY
  • William T. Young Humanitarian Award distinguishes a person or organization in the Thoroughbred industry “who recognizes and promotes the human endeavor:” KEENELAND ASSOCIATION, INC.

Also receiving awards were the top Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Fund (KTDF) money earners in 2015 in five separate categories.

2015 Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Fund (KTDF) Leaders:

  • KTDF Sire of the Year: CANDY RIDE (ARG) (Lane’s End Farm)
  • KTDF Earner of the Year: SHES A TRUE BEAUTY (SumFun Stable)
  • KTDF Owner of the Year: KENNETH L. & SARAH K. RAMSEY
  • KTDF Trainer of the Year: MICHAEL MAKER
  • KTDF Breeder of the Year: WINSTAR FARM, LLC

Recipients of the 2015 KTOB Kentucky-Bred Champion awards were voted on by the full membership of KTA/KTOB while the KTDF category leaders were tabulated using purse money won at KY racetracks in 2015.  KTOB merit award recipients were voted on by the KTA/KTOB Board of Directors.

In existence since 1967 and 1983, respectively, the KTOB and KTA direct their efforts toward promoting and protecting the Thoroughbred industry by maintaining the highest levels of racing, breeding and training standards in the Commonwealth.

Comment on this article