Skip to content

About Us

The Kentucky Thoroughbred Association and Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders are trade organizations consisting of owners, breeders, trainers, and associate members. We are committed to our members and encourage and thrive on their participation. We believe that united we can succeed in working for the betterment of our industry.

As our associations increase in membership, we broaden our support base and increase our visibility on issues that impact the Thoroughbred industry on local, state, and national levels, while continuing to promote the Kentucky Thoroughbred racing and breeding industry here at home and around the world.

KTA-KTOB Working For You

The KTA-KTOB promotes positive legislation with such industry partners as the American Horse Council and NTRA, and we continue to play an active role in legislative matters of concern on statewide and national levels. In conjunction with the Kentucky Thoroughbred Farm Managers’ Club, we have increased the economic benefits to Kentucky breeders through the Breeders’ Incentive Program.

Services / Information

  • Provide association group health insurance to eligible Kentucky employers
  • Serve as an informational and directional source in equine matters for Kentuckians, as well as visitors from other states and countries

Simulcasting and Purses

  • Developed KTDF (Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Fund), a purse supplement, which has offered over $224 million since 1995
  • Negotiated with Churchill Downs and Keeneland for the highest percentage of revenue to purses from all sources in the country, including ADW agreements.
  • Instrumental in legislation of whole-card simulcasting and Breeders’ Awards.
  • Continue efforts for the protection of the KTDF and enhancement of Kentucky purse structure.

Horse Health / Research

  • Founding member of the Racing Medication and Testing Consortium; led the national initiative for uniform race-day medication rules.
  • Established KTOB Foundation which funds reproductive-based research.
  • Lobbied successfully to secure $28.5 million in funding from the state for renovation of the University of Kentucky Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory.

Farmland / Conservation

  • Continually participate in local zoning issues that protect Kentucky farms and our ability to raise horses.
  • Instrumental in developing the Purchase of Development Rights Program (PDR) in Lexington which currently preserves farmland for future generations.

Industry Promotion

  • Developed an international marketing program with Keeneland.
  • Established Scholarship Day with Kentucky racetracks. Since its inception, the scholarships have funded 606 full-time college students who have shared in $687,000 towards their tuition. This includes nine Runhappy scholarships each worth $10,000.
  • Developed strategic plan for KTA/KTOB’s future, putting in place an aggressive marketing plan for promoting Kentucky-breds.


Chauncey Morris

Executive Director

Vickie Garcia

Office Manager

Jenny McGaughey

Director of KTDF Registration / Administrative Support Manager

Lanny Kohnhorst

Racetrack Representative

David Schneck

Racetrack Representative

KTA/KTOB Board of Directors


Braxton Lynch


Royal Oak Farm


Joseph Seitz

Vice President KTA

Brookdale Farm

Director of Sales

Walker Hancock

Vice President KTOB

Claiborne Farm


Mark Taylor


Taylor Made Sales Agency


Dermot Ryan


Ashford Stud


Jackie Smith

Assistant Treasurer

Juddmonte Farm

Financial Manager


  • Christopher L. Baker
  • James Baker
  • Craig Bandoroff
  • Philip Bauer
  • Price Bell
  • Stuart E. Brown, II, D.V.M.
  • Patrick Costello
  • Elizabeth Crow
  • Darren Fox
  • Hutton Goodman
  • Ben Haggin
  • Walter Hillenmeyer, III
  • Anne Archer Hinkle
  • Jason Litt
  • Charles LoPresti
  • Reeve McGaughey
  • Paul McGee
  • Natanya Nieman, DVM
  • Callan Strouss
  • Wayne Sweezey
  • Jeffrey D. Thornbury

Directors Emeritus

  • Clifford Barry
  • James G. Bell
  • Darrell Brown
  • Alice H. Chandler
  • Waddell W. Hancock II
  • Neil A. Howard
  • William L.S. Landes III
  • A. Gary Lavin
  • Garrett O'Rourke
  • Pope McLean, Jr.
  • Frank Penn
  • R. Alex Rankin
  • J. David Richardson, M.D.
  • Don M. Robinson
  • Frederick J. Seitz
  • R. Eric Waldman
  • John T. Ward Jr.