Fourteen Kentucky-bred horses have a chance to add their name to the list of Kentucky Derby (G1) winners this Saturday, comprising the overwhelming majority of the 18 3-year-olds entered in the 1 1/4-mile Classic.

To date, horses from the Bluegrass have won 101 runnings of the Derby, with Florida the next closest with a distant six winners.

This year’s Derby, the first not run in May since 1945, will also be the first run with a redesigned single starting gate that can hold the full field.

Among the most prominent Kentucky-breds are Honor A. P. and Authentic, the second and third choices on the morning line.

Honor A. P. has been ultra-consistent in his career, never finishing worse than second in five starts and earning $382,200. He was a convincing winner of the Santa Anita Derby (G1), a race Authentic finished second in. An $850,000 yearling owned by C R K Stable LLC, Honor A. P. was bred by George Krikorian and is a son of Honor Code out of Krikorian’s outstanding mare Hollywood Story, a multiple Grade 1 winner of over $1.1 million.

Authentic has been just as formidable, winning four of five lifetime starts, including most recently the Haskell Inv. (G1). Trained by Bob Baffert, the son of leading sire Into Mischief is owned by Spendthrift Farm, MyRacehorse Stable, Madaket Stable and Starlight Racing. Authentic was bred by Peter Blum Thoroughbreds and sold for $350,000 at the 2018 Keeneland September Yearling sale.

Honor A. P. drew post 16 and will be ridden by Mike Smith, while Authentic is in post 18 and has John Velazquez aboard.

Post time for Saturday’s Derby, race 14, is 7:01 p.m. ET and will be televised nationally on NBC.